Congratulations to our award winners!

On 26 October 2018 WLA ACT hosted the second biannual ACT Women Lawyers Awards Gala Dinner at the National Gallery of Australia.

Danielle Mildren, President of WLA ACT said “The Awards recognise the outstanding legal talent we are fortunate to have in the ACT. Not only are the award winners all exceptional lawyers, they all contribute more broadly to the profession in a variety of important ways, and are all champions of the women lawyers who surround them. Our Award winners reflect the diversity of our legal community, from those in multinational firms to those in Government, community and academia”.

Congratulations to all of our impressive award winners!

Woman Lawyer of the Year

Carol Benda

Solicitor, Older Persons ACT Legal Aid Office

Legal Aid ACT

Woman Barrister of the Year

Kristy Katavic


Blackburn Chambers

Woman Lawyer of the Year - Government

Dr. Suzanne Akila

Assistant Director, Legal

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Woman Lawyer of the Year - Private Practice

Rebekha Pattison

Senior Associate

King & Wood Mallesons

Woman Lawyer of the Year - Culturally and Linguistically Diverse or Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander

Rorisang Moyo

Legal Officer

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Woman Lawyer of the Year - Community or Academic (Joint Winners)

Professor Lorana Bartels

Professor, School of Law and Justice

University of Canberra

Parastou Hatami

Supervising Solicitor/Program Manager

Canberra Community Law, Dhurrawang Aboriginal Human Rights Program

Woman Lawyer of the Year - Early Career (Joint Winners)

Bridget Dunne


Legal Aid ACT

Liz Leiter

Senior Government Lawyer

Safe Work Australia

To find out more about our award winners see here.